pretorian
Neuling
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon 27. Feb 2017, 14:19

Assign multiple activity types to workout

Mon 27. Feb 2017, 14:42

Hi,

I like runalyze very much as it fits my training planning and philosophy. While exploring its features as I am new to it I came up with one suggestion/feature that would be nice to have. Here it goes the case of application.

Training scenario: Interval Training (running) of 5x1000 m series with 3 min Easy pace between each 1000 m.
I usually run 1000 m at Interval pace, then take the lap (or split) with my watch and run at Easy pace for 3 minutes (about 600 m).
Then, as I want my watch to take the next 1000 m time, I stop the activity and start again from 0 (GPS measurement).
Note: if I don't stop the watch, I would run the 2nd 1000m from GPS measurement of 1600m to 2600m and so on.

Results: I have 5 workouts of 1600 m of which 1000 m is run at Interval pace and 600 m at Easy pace.
When I import the single workout into Runalyze I can only assign one activity type to the workout (which would be Interval), as you can see in the figure below.
However, this would bias the estimation of the VDOT value adn fitness, as the resulting average pace is slower than the IT pace and faster than the Easy pace.

Image

Suggestion: add possibility to split the workout into customizable distances (e.g., 1st split: 1000 m, 2nd split: 600 m) and assign different activity type to each split.

I hope I explained myself clearly enough and not fell into any loop :)
Kind regards,
Antonio

PS: wonderful job!
Attachments
workout_type.png
workout_type.png (33.06 KiB) Viewed 1833 times
0 x

User avatar
laufhannes
Core developer
Posts: 761
Joined: Mon 29. Jul 2013, 20:59

Re: Assign multiple activity types to workout

Mon 27. Feb 2017, 15:00

pretorian wrote:
Mon 27. Feb 2017, 14:42
Then, as I want my watch to take the next 1000 m time, I stop the activity and start again from 0 (GPS measurement).
Note: if I don't stop the watch, I would run the 2nd 1000m from GPS measurement of 1600m to 2600m and so on.

What kind of watch do you use? Common watches support data fields like 'round distance' that will start at 0 after each 'round'. There is no need to start a complete new activity.
pretorian wrote:
Mon 27. Feb 2017, 14:42
Results: I have 5 workouts of 1600 m of which 1000 m is run at Interval pace and 600 m at Easy pace.
When I import the single workout into Runalyze I can only assign one activity type to the workout (which would be Interval), as you can see in the figure below.
However, this would bias the estimation of the VDOT value adn fitness, as the resulting average pace is slower than the IT pace and faster than the Easy pace.

But that's what it is: One single workout. And 'Interval' is the correct activity type for it. Evaluating how much you trained in each zone is part of another issue (we claim to provide a complete zone analysis zone since long time ago, but, still, a good concept is missing).

If the complete workout does not fit your general VO2max* estimation, you can uncheck the box such that this activity is not used for your current shape. Handling each 1000m interval (+ 600m easy pace) as a single workout will be highly biased as well. We have an ongoing discussion how to select "valid segments" for VO2max estimation (see https://github.com/Runalyze/Runalyze/issues/1574 for the issue itself and viewtopic.php?f=35&t=589&start=10 for a discussion in German about that topic). That will come some day this year, hopefully.

* There won't be any VDOT features in the upcoming release, see https://github.com/Runalyze/Runalyze/issues/2079. (But as mentioned there, we won't further discuss that topic on public channels.)
0 x
User help -- short questions via Twitter, Facebook

pretorian
Neuling
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon 27. Feb 2017, 14:19

Re: Assign multiple activity types to workout

Wed 1. Mar 2017, 11:58

I am using a Runtastic GPS watch. Maybe it does not have the "round distance" you talk about.
The fact is that GPS distance (workout distance) does not start at 0 km once I press the lap button, it just keeps counting kilometers.

One solution I see is to stop the watch at every segment, i.e., 1000m IT and stop watch, start 600m Easy and then stop. Repeat it again for the n series.
I will check further display functions of my watch though.

Thanks a lot.
0 x

Return to “Archive”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest