Forum rules
Please always provide all needed information to identify your problems. Screenshots and detailed descriptions makes it easier for us to help
arathunku
Neuling
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat 18. Mar 2023, 11:25

VO2max based on power/race? Missing HR - prognosis, training paces are not working.

Hello,

I've just become a user, bought premium, and I've synced last 5 years of trainings, almost 10k km, few races (10k / half / marathon). I'm also running with Stryd and power information is present in .fit files from last half year... but I still cannot use many features due to missing HR data. I'm using Fenix 5+ with buggy HR so I've disabled it, power from Stryd is much more accurate anyway.

How can I toggle some of my settings in Runalyze to properly get value from VO2max, race prediction, marathon shape based on POWER? I'd not even mind if it used automatically my latest race to gauge VO2Max, so skipping power... I expect myself to use only Power for years to come, now with Stryd, in the future directly from Garmin watch, not HR.

Of course I could hardcode VO2Max based on Daniel's tables from a book and latest result but I'd like it to be updated over time automatically based on races and power.

Everything else looks absolutely amazing about runalyze and I see a lot features that I was missing in other portals.

Cheers,
Michal
Attachments
2023-03-18_113756.png
2023-03-18_113756.png (54.98 KiB) Viewed 3196 times
2023-03-18_112809.png
2023-03-18_112809.png (89.95 KiB) Viewed 3196 times
User avatar
mipapo
Administrator
Posts: 1578
Joined: Mon 29. Jul 2013, 20:26
Location: Kiel

Re: VO2max based on power/race? Missing HR - prognosis, training paces are not working.

Vo2max is based on heartrate not on power.

What you are looking for is probably a cp/ftp estimation by Power which has nothing to do with the effective vo2max.
In the next months we will release an option to track the cp/ftp and in the future automatic estimation of those values.
###Become a Runalyze supporter###
- Nutzerhilfe/User help -

Run Happy!,
Michael
P.S. Ich antworte gerne kurz und knackig ;)
Image
arathunku
Neuling
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat 18. Mar 2023, 11:25

Re: VO2max based on power/race? Missing HR - prognosis, training paces are not working.

I'm aware about the differences, it might not be clear from the original post because I suggested to connect those two.

What I'm trying to achieve - I'd like to see and use marathon shape, and training paces without HR. Do I understand correctly that it might not be possible at the moment?
Last edited by arathunku on Wed 22. Mar 2023, 09:47, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
mipapo
Administrator
Posts: 1578
Joined: Mon 29. Jul 2013, 20:26
Location: Kiel

Re: VO2max based on power/race? Missing HR - prognosis, training paces are not working.

You need HR for the effective vo2max and marathon shape. That won't change.

But you will be able to to get a prognosis by power at some point and maybe we see a change then to apply the marathon shape to that prognosis.
###Become a Runalyze supporter###
- Nutzerhilfe/User help -

Run Happy!,
Michael
P.S. Ich antworte gerne kurz und knackig ;)
Image
User avatar
laufhannes
Core developer
Posts: 643
Joined: Mon 29. Jul 2013, 20:59

Re: VO2max based on power/race? Missing HR - prognosis, training paces are not working.

arathunku wrote: Wed 22. Mar 2023, 09:43 What I'm trying to achieve - I'd like to see and use marathon shape, and training paces without HR. Do I understand correctly that it might not be possible at the moment?
You can enter a manual Effective VO2max in your configuration. That should enable marathon shape calculation and training paces. But, of course, this manual value does not change automatically with your training. So you always have to change that on your own if you're not training with a hr monitor.

You can check VO2max values for your races at https://runalyze.com/my/tools/vo2max-analysis.
User help -- short questions via Twitter, Facebook

Return to “Discussion, Feedback & Questions”